Skip to content

Jan. 6 panel subpoenas McCarthy, four other GOP lawmakers

The Jan. 6 House select committee subpoenaed five members of Congress on Thursday, including House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.), along with Reps. Scott Perry (R-Pa.), Jim Jordan (R-Ohio), Andy Biggs (R-Ariz.) and Mo Brooks (R-Ala).

Why it matters: The move marks the first time the committee has issued subpoenas to sitting members of Congress, and comes after months of debate among committee members over the legality of subpoenaing their colleagues.

The panel previously requested voluntary testimony from the five Republican lawmakers — as well as Rep. Ronny Jackson (R-Texas) — all of whom refused.

Driving the news: “The Select Committee has learned that several of our colleagues have information relevant to our investigation into the attack on January 6th and the events leading up to it,” Rep. Bennie Thompson, who chairs the panel, said in a statement.

“Regrettably, the individuals receiving subpoenas today have refused and we’re forced to take this step to help ensure the committee uncovers facts concerning January 6th,” Thompson said.

Editor’s note: This is a developing story and has been updated throughout.